Using macOS version on BigSur
If I put incorrect credentials in to login, the "Connecting" notice just keeps spinning forever.
In my case, I put the incorrect URL for the Connection Manager.
Since there is no convenient cancel button, I had to use the "Force Logout" option from the application menu.
This returns me to the login window, but using the "Debugging" window and the "Network" pane, I could see that converse.js continues to attempt to connect to the previously inputted Connection Manager even though I have "canceled" the connection attempt.
Even after I input a new Connection Manager URL and new login credentials and start a new login attempt, converse.js continues unsuccessfully trying to establish a connection using the first attempt with the first inputted credentials, and never stops, effectively ignoring the newly-inputted credentials.
The newly-inputted credentials are not entirely ignored. If I quit the converse.js app completely, and then relaunch it, it will then automatically attempt to connect with the last set of credentials I inputted before closing the app.
In short:
- converse.js should have a method to fully cancel an attempted connection - currently it does not
- converse.js should not require me to close and reopen the app to attempt a new connection with new credentials - currently it does
Using macOS version on BigSur
If I put incorrect credentials in to login, the "Connecting" notice just keeps spinning forever.
In my case, I put the incorrect URL for the Connection Manager.
Since there is no convenient cancel button, I had to use the "Force Logout" option from the application menu.
This returns me to the login window, but using the "Debugging" window and the "Network" pane, I could see that converse.js continues to attempt to connect to the previously inputted Connection Manager even though I have "canceled" the connection attempt.
Even after I input a new Connection Manager URL and new login credentials and start a new login attempt, converse.js continues unsuccessfully trying to establish a connection using the first attempt with the first inputted credentials, and never stops, effectively ignoring the newly-inputted credentials.
The newly-inputted credentials are not entirely ignored. If I quit the converse.js app completely, and then relaunch it, it will then automatically attempt to connect with the last set of credentials I inputted before closing the app.
In short: